Showing 11 posts in Boating and Jet Ski Accidents.
Do I Have to Report a Boating Accident in Delaware?
Boating accidents are unfortunately common in Delaware, particularly in the summer season when visitors come from across the state and the country to enjoy our waterways. In 2021, there were 17 reported boating accidents in Delaware, involving 28 vessels, 5 injuries, and 2 fatalities. More ›Share
7 Steps to Take After a Boating or Jet Ski Accident
The U.S. Coast Guard reported 5,265 recreational boating accidents in the U.S. in 2020. As a result of these accidents, 3,191 people were injured, approximately $62.5 million in property damage was caused, and 767 people died. More ›Share
What Kinds of Injury or Damage Can I Sue for After a Boating Accident?
There has been a substantial rise in the number of boaters out on the water. The massive spike in recreational boating has been attributed to the pandemic, as so many Americans were looking for something different to do during a time when social distancing was encouraged throughout the country. In fact, 2020 saw new boat sales hit a 13-year high, as the National Marine Manufacturers Association said that there were 415,000 first-time boat buyers entering the market that year. More ›Share
Understanding Boat Insurance
Boating accidents are unfortunately an all-too-common occurrence in the United States. To illustrate how widespread this issue is, consider that according to the U.S. Coast Guard’s 2020 Recreational Boating Statistics Report there were 767 boating fatalities in 2020, which represented a staggering 25.1 percent increase from 2019. According to the same report, there were 5,265 total accidents, and the total number of injured victims was 3,191—with both figures also representing a roughly 25 percent increase from the previous year. Add in the fact that property damage totaled over $62 million, and it becomes clear that having boating insurance is an absolute must. More ›Share
Is Suing for a Boating Accident the Same as a Car Accident?
Injuries from a boating accident can be very serious, even fatal. The laws that govern boats are much less restrictive than those for cars and trucks. People with little or no training can drive speed boats through crowded waters, causing very dangerous conditions. States differ on the type of licensing and education boaters need, and on the minimum age to operate a boat. More ›Share
Will Homeowners’ Insurance Cover a Boating Accident?
As the summer kicks off, many people are getting out on the Delaware waterways and oceanfront in kayaks, jetskis, speedboats, and other personal watercraft. With increased activity on the water, there are inevitably more boating accidents as well as more incidents of theft, vandalism, and other damage to boats. It is important to understand your insurance coverage and the extent of your liability as a boat owner, and ensure that you have full insurance coverage for your boating activities in place before an accident happens. More ›Share
Boating & Jet Ski Accident FAQs
If you have had a boating accident, you must first take care of the health and safety of the people involved. Read our "Boating and Jet Ski Accident Frequently Asked Questions" to find out what you need to do to protect yourself. More ›Share
Why should I hire an attorney?
Being involved in a serious accident can throw your entire world into chaos and leave you with a lot to consider, including whether taking legal action is appropriate. If you do decide to exercise your legal rights and pursue compensation for injuries sustained in an accident that was caused by another person's negligence, you may find yourself wondering if it's really necessary to hire an attorney to represent you. While the short and technical answer to that question is “no,” there are many instances where hiring an experienced personal injury attorney is not only wise, but offers you the best possible chance of achieving a successful outcome in your case. More ›Share
How long do I have to file a claim in a personal injury lawsuit?
Most states have statute of limitation laws that place limits on how long an accident victim has to file a civil claim, such as a personal injury lawsuit. In Delaware, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is two years, meaning that the lawsuit must be filed within two years of the date the accident—and the related injuries—occurred. Accident victims who fail to file a lawsuit within the two-year statute of limitations risk having their case dismissed.
There can be exceptions—the statute of limitations may pause, or “toll,” if the victim was mentally incompetent at the time of the injury. In this case, the time limit for filing a personal injury lawsuit extends to three years after the disability ends. More ›Share
Four Key Aspects of a Personal Injury Case
If you were injured in an accident and are considering taking legal action, understanding the key aspects of a personal injury case can be helpful. More ›Share
What if there is a death from an accident?
When a person loses their life as the result of someone else’s fault, Delaware law allows for the filing of a wrongful death claim. There are two parts of the claim. The first part is called a “survival” action. This type of action allows the decedent’s estate to make a claim for the decedent’s pain and suffering (but only if there was conscious pain and suffering before death), medical bills, lost wages, and funeral expenses. Damages paid to the estate will flow through to the beneficiaries of the estate. The second part of the claim is brought under Delaware’s Wrongful Death Statute. This statute allows for compensation to certain members of the decedent’s family. More ›Share